Artists selected for the Purple (D Line) Extension Transit project

Artists have been commissioned to create artwork for Purple (D Line) Extension Stations

A panel of nationally recognized curators, local arts professionals and community members from the Purple Line Extension Section 2 and 3 project areas selected artists to create site-specific integrated artwork for the future Wilshire/Rodeo, Century City/Constellation, Westwood/UCLA and Westwood/VA Hospital stations.

The diverse lineup of accomplished artists includes:

  • Eddie Rodolfo Aparicio (Century City/Constellation Station)
  • Moses X. Ball (Westwood/UCLA station)
  • Sandow Birk (Westwood/VA Hospital Station)
  • Sarah Cain (Century City/Constellation Station)
  • Victoria Fu + Matt Rich (Westwood Hospital/VA)
  • Karen Hampton (Westwood Station/UCLA)
  • Phung Huynh (Century City/Constellation Station)
  • Oscar Magallanes (Century City/Constellation Station)
  • Yunhee Min (Westwood Station/UCLA)
  • Meleko Mokgosi (Wilshire/Rodeo Station)
  • Rigo 23 (Wilshire Station/Rodeo)
  • Porras-Kim Gala (Westwood/UCLA Station)
  • Analia Saban (Century City/Constellation Station)
  • Francesco Simeti (Westwood Hospital/VA)
  • Eloy Torrez (Westwood Hospital/VA)
  • Devon Tsuno (Wilshire Station/Rodeo)
  • Iris Yirei Hu (Westwood Station/UCLA)

Through a competitive process, the artist selection panel carefully reviewed each artist’s professional qualifications and examples of past work. Panelists included: Arthur Lewis, Creative Director, United Talent Agency Artist Space; Anna Sew Hoy, chair, UCLA School of the Arts and Architecture, Department of Art; Cate Thurston, Associate Curator, The Skirball Cultural Center; Connie Butler, Chief Curator, The Hammer Museum at UCLA; Jean Tardy-Vallernaud, founding president, Century City Arts Council; Ken Gonzales-Day, artist; LeRonn P. Brooks, Associate Curator, The Getty Research Institute; Michael Amescua, artist; Stephanie Vahn, Chair, Beverly Hills Arts and Culture Commission; and Thao Nguyen, Art and Design Agent, Creative Arts Agency.

“Growing up in Los Angeles, certain images are etched in my memory – the streets lined with white flags during the 1984 Summer Olympics, the rainbow tile mosaics of the space age in the terminals of LAX and the wall portraits of the members of the LA Philharmonic who preside over the Harbor Freeway.I believe the art selected for Metro’s Purple (D Line) expansion project will have a similar effect on our community, providing resonant images that we absorb and meditate as part of our daily lives,” said Anna Sew Hoy.

“I’ve come to see each artwork concept as a portal and a presence that will welcome us, invite thought, and enliven our day as we move distances large and small. Informed by both past and present, these works of art will create something new and dynamic and shape the city of the future, which will be enriched by the recognition of our history and transformed by an imaginary of place and time and works of art that will surely stand the test of time,” said Ken Gonzales-Day.

“This project is so important and vital to preserve the ideas of our time and democratize access to art. The selected artists and their work reflect the diversity and vibrancy of our culture and communities and celebrate LA as a true world-class creative capital,” said Thao Nguyen.

“The thoughtful consideration, community insights and enthusiasm of the panelists were invaluable in selecting this phenomenal group of seventeen artists,” said Maya Emsden, Executive Director (Acting), Metro Art Program. “We’re excited about how this lineup of artists encompasses many generations and cultures, and how that will reflect in the work they create for our riders.”

The artists join nine artists selected earlier for future Wilshire/La Brea, Wilshire/Fairfax and Wilshire/La Cienega stations: Eamon Ore-Giron, Fran Siegel, Mark Dean Veca, Karl Handel, Ken Gonzalez-Day, Susan Silton, Todd Gray, Mariana Castillo Deball and Soo Kim .

Stay tuned for future events and meet-the-artist activities being held for the public at cultural destinations in the Purple (D Line) Expansion Project area. Click onhereto receive information about Metro’s upcoming arts and culture programs.

Click onherefor more information on Metro’s arts program, including our popular art tours and cultural programming. You can also follow Metro Art onFacebookandinstagram.

Categories: Metro Art, Transportation News

Tagged as: Analia Saban, Devon Tsuno, Eddie Rodolfo Aparicio, Eloy Torrez, Francesco Simeti, Gala Porras-Kim, Iris Yirei Hu, Karen Hampton, Matt Rich, Meleko Mokgosi, Metro Art, Moses X. Ball, Oscar Magallanes, Phung Huynh , Purple Line Extension, Rigo 23, Sandow Birk, Sarah Cain, Victoria Fu, Yunhee Min

Comments are closed.